Recital on San Bernardino Symphony Series

Sturges Center for the Fine Arts
780 North E Street San Bernardino, CA 92410
April 15, 2023 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm



GRAMMY® Award-winning pianist Nadia Shpachenko's performance showcases a hugely dramatic range delivered with remarkably expressive precision. Nadia curates a program that includes Beethoven's Eroica Variations, the music of Scott Joplin, Astor Piazzolla, and Dana Kaufman, and a stunning new chamber work (Invasion) by Pulitzer-Prize winning composer, Lewis Spratlan for solo piano and SBSO's principal players.

Heroism through Music

L. v. Beethoven Eroica Variations, Op. 35 for solo piano (1802)

Dana Kaufman Honeyball for speaking pianist and soccer cleats (2021/2023)


Astor Piazzolla Three Tango Etudes for bassoon and piano (1987)
with Anthony Parnther, bassoon

Scott Joplin Two Rags for solo piano

Lewis Spratlan Selections from Six Rags for solo piano (2018)

Spratlan Invasion for piano, alto saxophone, horn, trombone, percussion,
and mandolin (2022), with principal San Bernardino Symphony players, conducted by Anthony Parnther